April is World Autism Awareness month, dedicated to increasing awareness about Autism Spectrum Disorder(ASD). Autism Partnership (AP), one of the largest and most established Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) service providers for ASD in the world, continues its efforts to spread awareness, promote acceptance, and ignites change through this meaningful online summit this April. The summit will discuss topics that will make a difference to parents and their children with ASD, and will address the importance of early intervention, continuous training and ongoing support through the different ages in a child of ASD.

What is Autism?

Autism is a severe disruption of the normal development process and is often diagnosed within the first few years of life. Autism is viewed as a spectrum or a continuum of disorders, with varying degrees of severity and levels of functioning. The term Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) is frequently used interchangeably with autism. Diagnoses such as Asperger’s Syndrome, Childhood Disintegrative Disorder, Pervasive Developmental Disorder, Autistic Disorder and Pervasive Developmental Disorders (Not Otherwise Specified) from DSM-IV are all included within the umbrella of ASD in DSM-5.

Symptoms

With the advancement in diagnostic tools, most children with autism can be reliably diagnosed by the age of 3, and earlier diagnosis is even possible for children as young as 12 months old. Parents are usually the first to notice peculiarities with their child’s development that do not follow the typical norm. Some of these peculiarities noted by parents include sudden regression and onset of social aloofness and/or a lack of progress after the child has reached certain developmental milestones. Although symptoms of autism vary from child to child, the core areas affected include: These essential skill deficits cause children to fall progressively further behind their typical peers as they grow older. The cause is unknown, but evidence points to physiological and neurological abnormalities. Children with autism generally do not learn in the same way that children normally learn, because, in part, they lack the fundamental skills which enable them to acquire and process basic information. These difficulties result in significant delays in their development of language, play and social skills, including their failure to notice and learn through imitation of their peers.

Prevalence

On March 27, 2014, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention announced that the new Autism Spectrum Disorder prevalence is now 1 in 68 children ( 1 in 142 boys and 1 in 189 girls ). A 30% increase from 1 in 88 two years ago. The largest increase was seen in children who have average or above-average intellectual ability, according to the CDC. According to the report, the average age of diagnosis is still over age 4, even though autism can be diagnosed by age 2. The earlier a child is diagnosed with autism, the better their changes of overcoming the difficulties that come with the disorder. There are still disparities in awareness and access to care among minorities and underprivileged families, which can have a direct impact on a child.

How to help children with ASD?

AP holds the belief that every child deserves to thrive, and specifically, AP believes children and individuals with autism should have the opportunity to realize their inherent potential and achieve the greatest degree of independence and highest quality of life possible. AP also believes that through intensive early intervention of Autism Partnership Method (APM), a progressive model of ABA that is highly individualized, child friendly, holistic and focused on “in-the-moment analysis” and “clinical judgement”, those affected can reach amazing potential, foster meaningful relationships and lead productive lives.
With the aim of spreading awareness of ASD and Quality ABA early intervention, this event focuses on:
  • Providing information and resources for communities to be more aware of ASD, promote acceptance, and be more inclusive in everyday life
  • Sharing insights on quality intervention and effectiveness of AP method (APM)
  • Listening to the different voices from parents of children with ASD and getting to know the progress they have achieved with APM
 

Date and Time

Day 1 Day 2
April 3rd, 2021 (Saturday) April 4th, 2021(Sunday)
1:00pm-4:15pm (HKT)

Language

Main Language: English With Subtitles in: Chinese, Korean, Russian, and Bahasa Indonesia

Continue Education Units

Organization Professionals Units
The Behavior Analyst Certification Board BCBA/ BCaBA 7 Units
Hong Kong Institute of Speech Therapists Speech Therapists 6 CEPST Points
Social Workers Registration Board (Voluntary Continuing Professional Development Scheme for Registered Social Workers) Social Worker 13 Units
The Hong Kong Psychological Society Member of The Division of Educational Psychology (DEP) Member of The Division of Counselling Psychology (DCoP) 6.5 CEU

Fees

Regular Price Early Bird Price (before Mar 28, 2021) 
Professionals for CEU credits HKD 500 HKD 350
Parents of Children with ASD and others FREE

Partners

                           

Payment Methods


Free Registration

Name

Email

Phone No

Current Country/City

Occupation

每年四月是世界自閉症關愛月,旨在提升大眾對自閉症(ASD)的認識和包容。Autism Partnership作為全球最具規模為自閉症患者提供『應用行為分析』(ABA) 治療的專業機構,今年四月,將以線上峰會的形式繼續推廣宣傳自閉症認識和接納度的提升、為自閉症人士爭取權益和改變不斷努力。

什麼是自閉症(ASD)?

自閉症是一項非常嚴重的發展障礙,一般在出生後首數年內可被確診,它亦是一種廣泛性及連續性的發展遲緩。每個病患者的程度和情況均不同,亦被稱為「自閉候群症」。

自閉症的病徵有哪些?

隨著技術的進步,兒童普遍可以在3歲前被診斷出有否患上自閉症,年紀小至12個月大的嬰孩也有機會可被確診 (也可以接受診斷)。家長通常都是第一個發現孩子的不同之處,包括:孩子的能力突然急速退步、出現社交冷淡、發展停頓等狀況。 每一位患有自閉症的兒童都會具有不一樣的特徵,主要範疇包括: 隨著年紀增長,基於在必要的技能上出現了缺陷,令孩子跟一般同齡兒童的差距擴大。雖然至今尚未能完全確定自閉症的成因,但科學研究顯示,自閉症的成因跟生理以及神經系統異常有一定的關係。患有自閉症的兒童,他們的學習模式也會跟一般的兒童有所不同,原因是他們不懂得汲取和處理資訊。這些困難令到患有自閉症的兒童的發展嚴重落後於同齡兒童應有的程度,包括:語言溝通、遊戲技能及社交技巧;另外,這些孩子更不會懂得如何模仿身邊同伴的一言一行。

自閉症的普遍率

美國疾病控制與預防中心於2014年3月27日宣布,最新自閉症譜系障礙的患病率是每68名兒童當中有一名患有自閉症(大約每142男孩和每189名女孩當中有一名患有自閉症),比較兩年前的數字為每88名兒童當中有一名患有自閉症,患病率增加了三成。中心數據還顯示孩子擁有智商達平均或高於平均水平,患病率機會較高。 雖然自閉症可以早在兒童2歲時就被診斷出來,但是該報告指出,平均診斷年齡是超過4歲。若果能夠盡早被確診及接受治療,孩子將有更大機會克服自閉症譜系障礙帶來的問題。此外,少數民族和弱勢家庭對自閉症譜系障礙的認識和得到的幫助仍然很少,這對孩子的發展有直接的影響。

如何幫助患有自閉症兒童及人士?

AP始終堅信每一個兒童都可以茁壯成長,更加深信患有自閉症兒童及人士應有同樣的發揮其內在潛力的機會,並實現最大程度的獨立性和獲得優質生活的可能性。 AP亦認為,透過針對自閉症兒童的高效優質干預教學法——AP教學法(Autism Partnership Method),一種有系统但具靈活性,注重即時分析及臨床判斷,為患有自閉症的兒童提供友好,全方位及高度個性化的密集式干預訓練的應用行為分析(ABA)教學模型,能夠有效幫助患有自閉症兒童及人士開發無限潛力,建立有意義的社交關係,實現充實人生。
本次峰會討論的議題將為患有自閉症兒童的家庭帶來幫助和改變,亦呼籲廣大公眾對早期干預治療的重視,以及對患有自閉症兒童在不同年齡階段的持續教育和支持。 秉持著對自閉症認識和優質ABA早期干預治療大力推廣宣傳,本次活動著重於:
  • 為不同社群提供更有效的關於自閉症資訊和資源,促進公眾接受自閉症並在日常生活中對自閉症人士更具包容性
  • 分享優質干預及AP教學法的深入見解
  • 了解來自患有自閉症兒童家長的心聲並切身體驗他們透過AP教學法訓練後取得的進步
 

日期和時間

第一日 第二日
2021年四月三日(星期六) 2021年四月四日(星期日)
下午1:00 – 4:15 (香港時間)

語言

主要語言:英語 即時字幕:中文、韓文、俄文和印尼文

持續進修(繼續教育)學分

頒發學分機構 專業人士 學分
The Behavior Analyst Certification Board 註冊國際認證行為分析師(BCBA/ BCaBA) 7 CEU
香港言語治療師公會 註冊言語治療師 6 CEPST
社會工作者註冊局(自願持續專業發展計劃) 註冊社工 13學分
香港心理學會 教育心理學部(DEP)會員 輔導心理學部(DCoP)會員 6.5 學分

費用

原價 早鳥價格 (有效期至:2021年2月27日) 
需要持續進修學分之專業人士 HKD 500 HKD 350
家長及其他有興趣之人士 免費

合作夥伴:

                           

付款方式


免費報名(家長及其他有興趣之人士)

姓名

電郵

電話

現居國家/城市*

你是一名